Battle Royale: Combat

Hi Everyone,

Good news and bad in regards to the videos we were rendering last night (Combat and Game Setup). My version of Final Cut Pro Studio failed and I need to acquire myself a new one on Monday for a fresh install. I tried several times today to fix the issue, but my Mac basically told me it wasn’t going to give me any breaks. So, to not be a complete loss, I’m going to at the very least, try to translate what was on the video, as graphics in today’s update. Once I get my shiny new software installed on Monday, we’ll be back up and rendering again so I can do the post (which might make even more sense after seeing the same idea now).

Ok, first off per my previous update, we did away with “Easy Mode” for combat. I am utterly thankful for that because it played like an afterthought and it was never the focus of gameplay. Unfortunately, some at GenCon were thrown into the misery of Easy Mode, to which I am cringing with terror that that was your first impression of the game 😛

Character Boards:

When you start the game, you will:

  • Choose your character and get their Character Card
  • Get your character’s Character Board
  • Get your character’s 3 Tactic Cards
  • Draw 1 card from the Bonus Deck

In this example, we’ll choose Red Riding Hood

So with this, let’s grab her Character Board and give you a tour through it:

On the top, you’ll see the character’s corresponding name as well a their portrait in the near center. On the left, are the areas where you’ll put your trait tokens and reputation points. On the bottom right, you have your Item Slot where you’ll place equipped items. Keep in mind that an item must be equipped in Quest Mode (Before Combat) before being able to use it during battle. So you can’t be in combat and hope to grab a Jade Sword and equip it while an opponent is beating the snot out of you.

Ok, let’s talk about the top areas:

HEALTH – This is the amount of health you start the game with. In this case, Red has 20 health points. There are some characters that may have more or less, though the amount of health points can not exceed 30. This is VERY important because your traits correlate with your health.

So in this example, when you start off the game, you will receive 20 trait points to distribute any way you want on the left (excluding “Reputation” since that isn’t a trait). A good practice is to see what kind of traits are needed by Red to utilize her card ability or Super Move before distributing traits.

In combat and quest mode, you might use traits to play ability, item, action card, or super move effects. Keep in mind that by using traits, you’re essentially using your health points. And if your health reaches Zero, your main character dies.

MVM: (Movement)You may move up to that many spaces in Quest mode.

FCT: (Faction) This is the faction you belong in. In Red’s case, it’s the Mercenaries. Besides the symbol signifying the faction, the colored horizontal bar also correlates with the faction.

WEAK/ELMT: (Weakness/Element) Certain characters are weak against things like Fire, Ice, Holy, Dark, and Lightning as well as also emit those elements. For example, if you use a Fire attack against a character weak against fire, your attack will gain a +1 ATK bonus against them.

Ok, before we get into the Signature Moves and Super Moves, let’s talk about the essence of combat.

Combat Gameplay:

Whomever initiates the attack in quest mode begins combat as the attacker. When you begin, you and your opponent draws 5 cards from the Combat Deck. The combat deck is a shared deck you’ll both use during the duration of combat.

Before we get into an example, here are a few types of cards you’ll encounter in the Combat Deck:

You can play your Heal card from your hand, anytime during combat. It’s a bit random but adds to the suspense of your gains.

This is a cool card for you to remove nasty poison or stun status on you as well as give you a quick 3 trait gain. Even if you don’t have any status ailments, you can throw this down for a quick health/trait boost.

Unlike our early iteration, Escape is now more strategic and less on luck. If you’re trying to leave battle, you have to figure out just how many trait points you want to invest in the escape. Remember, you do not regain health just by leaving combat, though your opponent cannot attack you while you both are on the same location on the map area. So if you’re running low on health and invest only a couple of trait points, beware that your opponent might invest 2 or more to prevent you from escaping (and wasting your initial trait invested).

When you begin the game, your three Tactic Cards are considered dormant. They will be tilted horizontally until you play this card during combat. Once you do, you can select any of your tactic cards and ready them. From there, you can play your readied tactic card any time during combat (depending on what it does). Or you can save a readied tactic until your next combat (it isn’t necessary for you to use it once you ready yet during that combat).

These are your main combat cards. Each card will have their own title, like Ice, Jumping, Slash, etc. All of these cards will have an active ability you can use. Some are attacks (spending a trait to do 1-3 ATK damage), some give you choices to add status effects to attacks (like Bleed, Break, Ice, Fire, etc), and some give you character switching abilities.

TURN ORDER:

Ok, let’s say I’m initiating combat and am attacking. Both my opponent and I drew 5 cards and this is my hand:

Since it’s my Attack Phase, I can play an attack. Since this is my first combat, let’s say I have my initial 20 health points, so I can utilize 20 trait points. Looking at my hand, my “Fierce” card looks like the best deal. I can spend 1 trait to do 3 ATK damage. I’m about to play this attack then I notice my Signature Move/super Move area of my Character Board:

Oh wow! I notice that if I have a “Fierce” + “Slice”, I can play a “Spinal Chop” and deal a total of 5 ATK damage to my opponent. There are advantages and disadvantages of doing so, but since I can do this WITHOUT having to play any trait points, let’s do it!

As well, I take a look at the Super Move (each character has different signature/super moves). In case my Health Point is 5 or below, this can me my desperation move where in this case, I would only have about 2-3 health left in hopes that the two cards I search for will win me the game before I’m killed.

Ok, so I play my Spinal Chop. Since it’s now my opponent’s Reaction Phase, let’s see if my opponent can defend from my attack ….

Whoops! Looks like they can. But since they can only defend from 2, they will take 3 ATK damage. Another option they can do by playing BLADE, is by spending 1 trait, they could have caused “Knock Back”. Meaning, if I had multiple characters in my party, they could have forced me to switch my main character (the one I’m using for combat) with one of my supporting characters (any from my party). This would essentially screw me up, especially if I was saving cards for a strategy specifically with my current Main Character (in this example, Red.)

Ok, so they finished reacting and it’s still my attack phase. I can now play another attack, use other cards (if I had heal, cure, escape) or pass. But looking at my hand, I’m going to spend 1 trait point to play Running,which is just 1 ATK damage. But, I’m also going to play Poisoned, adding a Poison status to my attack. If my opponent defends with a card, then attack to defense damage calculates but poison does not get through. If my opponent does not/can not defend, then it’s considered a “successful” attack and they now have the Poison Status applied to them until they can remove it or until combat ends.

Now with only 1 card left in my hand, I will pass and it is my opponent’s offensive (while I’m on the defensive). We both draw up to 5 cards before they begin their attack. Each person’s attack phase is called a Turn. A Round is a complete set of turns. So if I initiate and attack first, then you attack…. the beginning of my my turn (the second time) is called a Round. This is important as some cards effect Rounds or Turns.

But what if you’re stuck with cards you don’t want even if you draw up?

When both players are drawing up to their 5 cards, you can spend 1 trait point to discard a card you don’t want before drawing up. This is called “Burning” cards.

Pressing Attacks

Here’s another thing you can do when attacking. Let’s say you attack for 3 ATK damage and an opponent plays a card that defends 3 ATK damage. Stalemates suck. So you can actually Press your attack by spending X number of trait point more to add more weight into the attack. If the defending player wants to, they can still hold their ground by matching exactly the same number of trait points you added. You then can still add more trait points and then they can react in kind. Basically when both players stop adding trait points, the attack/defense resolves.

Turning Tail

At the beginning of your full round, you may attempt to “Turn Tail”, basically escaping to end combat. Doing it this way instead of playing the escape card is very risky and costs you 1 trait point. THIS is the dice roll from the previous iteration of Escape. So you and your opponent roll a die. If you lose the roll (lower value loses), you end your turn and discard 1 equipped item (if you have any). If you win, you can end combat just like that.

Advanced Rules

During combat, you can also use your character’s ability (if it states it is a combat related ability). As well, any Action Cards you have in your hand, you can play during combat, depending on what it is. Items may have buffs or abilities that can be played by using trait points as well.

As well, there are different types of status effects that you’ll encounter on Combat Cards and Special Moves:

  • Bleed: Roll a die and add that value to your attack
  • Dizzy: Your opponent discards 1 combat card from their hand at random
  • Break: Your opponent discards 1 equipped item card
  • Pierce: Your attack ignores any 1 piece of armor opponent has equipped
  • Poison: You opponent has Poison Status. Meaning, at the beginning of every turn of combat, they lose 1 Health Point until Poison Status is removed or combat has ended
  • Stun: Opponent cannot attack or use super moves for 1 round.
These status effects are stackable, so you may find that a combination of combat cards with other abilities may lead to triple bleed or double pierce. Can you imagine stacking several poison status effects on an opponent? Yikes!

In addition to these rulings, we’ll go over other aspects of combat where other players may join in or effect battle from the outside. As well, we’ll also go over battle against NPCs (minions/bosses).

Although the video would have made this experience a lot easier, this guide may be a good reference point for when the video goes up. Once again, sorry for the software issues. Looking forward to getting Final Cut installed and rendering again in the next couple of days.

——————————-

Disclaimer: The following is not FTG card game related per se, but might be of value to you. Do not read if you are not interested.

Ok, so as you all know, we are currently running the campaign for Dragon Tides, an Action Minis Game officially starring Bruce Lee and Brandon Lee: (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/682539325/return-of-the-dragon)

Though currently funded, I would like to have an add-on in the campaign that will allow for 4 Miniatures from the Fairytale Games to crossover into Dragon Tides. These will be the EXACT same sculpts and minis from what you are getting in the Sacred 40 for Snow, Red, Goldielocks, and Mulan (or instead of Mulan, maybe Pocahontas). What this will add to Dragon Tides, is that it will come with the Character Boards and signature move cards that will make these 4 characters playable in the game. I’m telling you this because I have not posted it on the main page of the campaign and wanted to let you all know before I do so. I rather let you know first before posting it as a live add-on in an offchance that I might accidentally create any misgivings or misunderstandings for the intention.

Well, we don’t mind but do we get anything for being ok with this?

Absolutely! This crossover will be an add-on in the Dragon Tides campaign. But if you’re a Fairytale Games backer (Battle Royale or Minis Campaign) and you back Dragon Tides, you’ll get the Character Boards and Signature Move cards for these 4 characters for FREE as a thank you. In other words, there wouldn’t be any need for you to get the full crossover addons since you’re already getting those minis anyway (unless of course you want doubles).

Here’s the idea behind it:

So basically, this gives you even more uses for your minis if you’re also interested in an Action/Arcade game like Dragon Tides. With your blessings, I’d like to post it on Monday.

Leave a Reply

